top of page

Sample of Script

(Rupert enters up-stage left and creeps behind a tree to hide. Gherd enters down-stage left)

Gherd – Rupert (he calls sort of whispering) Rupert (demanding)

Bess – May I help you?

Gherd – I'm sorry to bother you. Go back to your berry picking...um but I wonder if you might have seen another...um well...uh handsome fellow that you may not or maybe you do...I uh hmmm. Have you seen a stranger, a man, rather well dressed per chance, uh prowling a bit? (he fumbles trying to find the right words not trying to rouse suspicion)

Bess – Prowling?

Gherd – Yes you know, he sort of creeps about.

Bess – And he is well dressed?

Gherd – Yes very much so...very well dressed indeed.

Bess – To be sure, he would be creeping? (Bess makes sort of a gesture as to imitate the creeping on all fours)

Gherd – Correct (he imitates her as well) Yes creeping

Bess – So he is a well dressed creeper. (this is said as a statement)

Gherd – Yes, have you seen him?

Bess – I assure you, if I had he would have an ax through his head as of now (she says this with a smile but it is done as a warning. The sound of the ax-man is heard in the background)

Gherd – Oh yes he's very close, very close. No One Could Bring Any Harm To You Without Surely Coming To A QUICK and PAINFUL END, I'm sure. Anyone with Half a Brain would LEAVE YOU ALONE! (Bess begins to laugh. Any reservation that she had with the stranger is now gone.)

Bess – I am Bess (she quickly wipes her hand on her apron and offers out her hand for him to shake)

(Gherd bows down low to her in a grand gesture then swoops up her hand and kisses it long drinking in the smell of her as he does)

Gherd – Pardon but you smell as a fresh ripe berry. (he says to her then examines her hand awkwardly)

Bess – Tis berries.

Gherd – Lovely (he says of the berries then looks at Bess) simply lovely.

Bess – And you are?

Gherd – Gherd (he sort of says this in a dream-like way)

Bess – Scared?

Gherd – No, no (he laughs) it's Gherd. It's a family name. You likely have never heard of it, we keep to ourselves these days, really. We don't dare into the woods anymore, not as we had.

Bess – Not unless you are looking for someone who might be...? (she is asking who it is that he is looking for)

Gherd – That would be my uncle. He is a drunkard. (he says trying to dispel any further questions)

Bess – And that would explain the creeping

Gherd – Yes it...it would actually be more crawling then creeping. (he thinks for a moment) He likely went back to the castle - GO BACK TO THE CASTLE NOW...and sleep it off. (Bess laughs) He is a headache.

Bess – With all of the yelling he probably has one. (Gherd points to her and laughs unexpectedly)

Gherd – Charming.

Bess – (Bess thinks a moment making a realization) And because you don't frequent these woods you will surely loose your way.

Gherd – There couldn't be a more truer statement made; for alas (he looks about) I am lost. Would you be so kind as to point me in the direction that I need to go?

Bess – I am afraid it is not as easy as that. I fear I will need to accompany you or you shall be lost indefinitely.

Gherd – I feel I should protest for chivalry's sake. It is I that should protect and guide the maiden and not the other way. So I will go. I will venture out into the deep green, by myself, never to be seen again, perhaps. (begins to saunter away from her slowly toward stage right) Oh but you should not care for we have only just met. I shall be but a memory faded off as you pass your years happily with those that you love while I lie among the trees as food for birds. They will pick and pluck at my molding corpse but ahh, I shall make your berries sweet.

Bess – So you know of our berries?

Gherd – They are famed.

Bess – Any royal that ventures into the woods with such noble cause as to find one's uncle who is a brandy-face and yet not even attempt to steal our treasure should not be fodder for birds or berries. He himself should be treasured, at least enough to be kind to.

Gherd – You will be kind?

Bess – I will do my best. It will merely be a token of generosity of course. I will lead you to an area that you can surely find your way.

Gherd – I have also heard that these woods not only have nectarous berries but beautiful flowers as well. Perhaps along the way you would be so gracious as to show them to me?

Bess – If it is adjacent to our path, it would be my pleasure.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page